Eagle Eye staff won the top honors at the Hawaii High School Journalism Awards yesterday, taking home the 2017 Best-in-state overall title for HBA’s journalism program. This is the program’s third state title in a row.

This year’s competition entries—drawn from both Eagle Eye print magazines and this website—placed in the top three spots in all but one of 18 total categories, giving the Eagle Eye the highest total score to win the overall title.

Fifteen Hawaii high schools—seven private and eight public—participated in this year’s competition, and the Eagle Eye took first place in seven categories in both the private school division and at the state level. This website was deemed by judges to be the best website, while the September 2016 Eagle Eye magazine was named the best single issue. Mililani High School and Sacred Hearts Academy finished second and third respectively in the overall state competition.

The 2016-17 Eagle Eye team is led by co-editors Kayci Kumashiro, a senior, and Joel Lau, a junior. Kumashiro’s illustration for a Japan Trip article anchored the Eagle Eye’s Best Layout/Design entry, while Lau’s writing and compilation of a multimedia story presentation on the 2016 Boat Regatta helped make the online entry a winning one. Kumashiro was also named the Most Valuable Staffer for the Eagle Eye, and her contest poster came in first, along with a check for $150.

I think our biggest strength is how well we work together. We push each other to finish writing articles on time, and we have fun filming morning announcements.

Co-editor Kayci Kumashiro ('17)


Other state awards include: Best Portrait Photography (senior Jarred Hee), Best Photo Essay (seniors Nui Sabas and Kellen Takatsuka), and Best Comic Strip (senior Esther Chang). Senior Noelle Nakamura edited the Boat Regatta video that was part of the multimedia story entry, with multiple staffers contributing video footage and photographs. Semester 1 students produced the winning September 2016 issue.

The results of this year’s competition were announced over a luncheon at the Pagoda Hotel, with students and faculty advisors from participating schools in attendance. Hosted by the Hawaii Publishers Association, with support from the Honolulu Star-Advertiser and MidWeek, the event also featured a keynote address by Hawaii News Now’s Digital Executive Producer and sports anchor Ian Scheuring.

Contest Poster Winner by Kayci Kumashiro (’17)

Awards List


Photo Essay (1st): Not for the Faint Hearted by Nui Sabas (’17)
Portrait Photography (1st): Sean Malinger by Jarred Hee (’17)
Layout/Design (1st): Nihon Go! by Kayci Kumashiro (’17)
Comic Strip (1st): Spring Break Plans by Esther Chang (’17)
Multimedia Story Presentation (1st): Boat Regatta (Group)
Website (1st)
Single Issue (1st): September 2016 Eagle Eye


News Writing (3rd): Membean Marathon by Kayci Kumashiro (’17)
Feature Writing (3rd): Kalaupapa by Paige Oshiro (’17)
Editorial (2nd): Beyond the Grade by Kayci Kumashiro (’17)
Sports Writing (3rd): She Still Got Game by Jarred Hee (’17)
Photo Essay (1st): Not for the Faint Hearted by Nui Sabas (’17)
Action Photography (2nd): Minute to Win It by Kaycee Nakashima (’20)
Portrait Photography (1st): Sean Malinger by Jarred Hee (’17)
Layout/Design (1st): Nihon Go! by Kayci Kumashiro (’17)
Illustration (3rd): Thanksgiving magazine cover by Paige Oshiro (’17)
Infographic (2nd): Sneakerheads by Aimee Clark (’17) and Nui Sabas (’17)
Editorial Cartoon (2nd): Beyond the Grade by Kylie Tamaki (’17)
Comic Strip (1st): Spring Break Plans by Esther Chang (’17)
Video (3rd): Boat Regatta, edited by Noelle Nakamura (’17)
Multimedia Story Presentation (1st): Boat Regatta (Group)
Blog (2nd): Astronomy Blog by Jarin Ashimine (’20)
Website (1st)
Single Issue (1st): September 2016 Eagle Eye


Semester 1

Jarin Ashimine
Aimee Clark
Renee’ Galolo
Jarred Hee
Kayci Kumashiro (Co-editor)
Joel Lau (Co-editor)
Kaycee Nakashima
Brant Yamamoto

Semester 2

Jarin Ashimine
Makenzie Cammack
Aimee Clark
Jordyn Hartley
Jarred Hee
Ryan Higashi
Kayci Kumashiro (Co-editor)
Joel Lau (Co-editor)
Jessie Lin
Kaycee Nakashima
Noelle Nakamura
Paige Oshiro
Nui Sabas
Ryan Su
DJ Sur
Kellen Takatsuka
Karly Tom
Johannah Wilford
Judithanne Young